Evaluation

The aim for the project was to create a children’s book cover for a book titled ‘Gracie Gumboots and the Enormous Dandelion Clock’. The design had to be appropriate for a child between five and ten years old. To create the final outcome I found it best to try many different techniques and styles as I could so I could find a style that I found most
interesting. Throughout the process I referred to research in book cover layout, artist references and image making. Although it took a while to find the style I liked best, when I did it was much more interesting to play around with the layout and to experiment with fonts. Overall I am happy with the end result. I can imagine the book set up amongst
similar books for that age group and I feel the cover has some sophistication which makes it work well as an art piece not only a book cover. There were times where it was a little too sophisticated but because the imagery was nature based it was easy to manipulate and make more playful and appealing to a younger audience. I think the colour palette works with the general soft playful mood of the story and the imagery is serious enough to add some mystery too. By making this cover it has contributed to my wider practice as it shows in my portfolio that I can refine my skills into something more designed and controlled. I have learnt how to layout text and images in a minimal way successfully and I have learnt the importance of attention to detail. The choice of recycled paper turned out to be
extremely complimentary to the book aesthetically and conceptually.

Leave a comment